Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence

4 June 2011

Coming SSIS Articles

Filed under: SSIS — Vincent Rainardi @ 2:57 pm
Tags:

Looking at the SSIS section on my blog I felt that SSIS has not been represented fairly. It has far less articles than SSAS! Over the years I have encountered several interesting stuff in SSIS, hence there are a few SSIS articles I’d like to write. Some are of basic type; some are more of architectural type.

The basic ones are for example: (I will put the link here one by one as I completed them)

  • export a query result into a file Link
  • load a file into an existing table (upsert)
  • set the value of a variable from database Link
  • set the value of a variable from a file Link1, Link2
  • find the latest file
  • dealing with the file footer/header
  • import an Excel file – problem with alphanumeric column
  • removing a column that was deleted from the table

I found that some people are having difficulties finding an example that they can copy. I believe that we human “learn by example”. When people google something, they want to find an article with an example that they can copy/do. Not lengthy explanation about how it works. But it is so difficult to find these examples, even for simple things, e.g. writing into a variable. So in all my coming articles I will write it to show it by example, rather than lengthy theoretical explanation.

The more of architectural ones are for example:

  • Configuration parameter: parent variable vs xml approach – advantages/disadvantages
  • Using custom task/component or child package to increase code reusability and maintainability
  • Orchestrating an ETL batch using metadata approach
  • Using a centralised message hub for DI/ETL rather than point to point approach. Particularly applicable / beneficial for large corporation.
  • What’s new in SSIS 2011 – this one is not architectural πŸ™‚

So in the next few weeks I will be writing them one by one. Hopefully they are useful for people who need them. As I finish each article I’ll put the link on the list above, as well as on the home page of course. If there are other topics in SSIS that you would like me to write, please let me know (vrainardi@gmail.com). There’s 1 Informatica article that I’d like to write: Importing a File with Dynamic Columns, i.e. like this but in Informatica.

Vincent Rainardi, 4/6/11

PS. Well, talking about unfair representation, SSRS, Informatica, BO, Cognos, and Teradata are also not represented fairly πŸ™‚ – I have no articles on them. None! Well may be next time, after SSIS. Now I’m going to concentrate solely on SSIS (well, and data modelling).

3 Comments »

  1. […] this helps. FYI this article is one of the articles I mentioned here, the Coming SSIS Articles. As I mentioned there I will be writing other basic SSIS […]

    Pingback by Export a Query Result to a File « Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence — 5 June 2011 @ 11:12 pm | Reply

  2. […] this helps. FYI this article is one of the articles I mentioned here, the Coming SSIS Articles. As I mentioned there I will be writing other basic SSIS […]

    Pingback by SSIS: Export a Query Result to a File « Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence — 6 June 2011 @ 9:41 pm | Reply

  3. Hi Vincent, thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading your SSIS articles. Looking forward to reading the architectural ones. Patrick

    Comment by Patrick — 2 October 2013 @ 12:40 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

