Data Warehousing and Data Science

29 November 2013

Data Consistency in Oracle and SQL Server

Filed under: SQL Server — Vincent Rainardi @ 8:09 am

I feel ashamed that I have not taken the time to really understand the data consistency mechanism in Oracle and SQL Server. I’ve read about transaction isolation level a few times, but didn’t really realise that in Oracle there is no dirty read like in SQL Server (Oracle does not offer Read Uncommitted mode). 

Oracle SCN Mechanism

When a query begins, the current system change number (SCN) is determined. In the picture above the SCN is 10. As data blocks are read, only blocks written with the observed SCN are used. Blocks with recent SCNs containing changed or uncommitted data are not read. This guarantees that the data read does not change during the duration of the query. This is why in Oracle there is no dirty reads (reading uncommitted data). Source: Link

In SQL Server, when the data is being read, the table is locked. Even thought table is locked, other processes can modify the data. Rows can be deleted and updated, new rows can appear. The lock only prevents SQL Server from reading uncommitted transactions (dirty reads). But it does read new rows and deleted rows (which is correct, we want the latest data). With NO LOCK, SQL Server will read uncommitted transactions. Source: Link

So, both SQL Server and Oracle, by default, allows phantom read and non-repeatable read, but prevent dirty reads. But they do it using different mechanism: Oracle uses SCN and SQL Server uses locks.

There are 3 issues with data consistency:

  • A dirty read is when a process reads a row written by an uncommitted transaction. If this transaction is rolled back, the read becomes incorrect.
  • A non repeatable read is when a transaction rereads a row it has previously read (for example, for updating a row) and finds that another process has modified or deleted the row.
  • A phantom read is when a transaction rerun the same query, it finds a new row inserted by another process.

Here are the 4 isolation levels and their ability to solve the issues:

Isolation Level Dirty Read Non Repeatable Read Phantom Read
Read uncommitted Yes Yes Yes
Read committed No Yes Yes
Repeatable read No No Yes
Serializable No No No

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: